The Young Enamellers Award Scheme

The Judith Harris Memorial Award for Young Enamellers










The objective of the Award is to encourage young people under 18, who are members of the Guild through junior, family, school or corporate membership, to create and submit work to the Guild exhibition at Conference each year. Recognition of the efforts of the winner of each age category will be in the form of an award, £25 of WG Ball Vouchers, a certificate and a year’s free membership of the Guild. In addition their work will be featured in the Guild Journal.


How to Enter
Any young person under 18 who has junior, family, school or corporate membership can enter for the award.
There are 3 age categories
Under 11
Under 16
Under 18

What to Enter
Any aspect of enamelling in any technique or range of techniques may be submitted in any format; wall pieces, bowls, jewellery etc.
Individual junior or family members may enter one piece each.
Schools and corporate members may submit a maximum of 3 pieces.

Important Information
All entrants must supply the following information with their entry:-

Name and membership number (this should also be clearly marked on the back of the work).
The age category they are submitting work for.
The title of the piece of work.
Details of which techniques were used and if they received any help with the work.
The name of the adult who is responsible for transporting the work to and from Conference.

The work must be submitted through an adult Guild member, who can bring it to Conference and return it afterwards (All works are sent at the owners own risk. The Guild cannot be held responsible for any loss or damage to work whilst on display or in transit.)

The judging panel will comprise of the Awards and Selection Officer, the Bursary Officer and an invited member of the Guild who is attending Conference over the weekend.

The winner of each age category will be announced at the Awards presentations on the Sunday morning of the annual Conference. The award, WG Ball vouchers and certificate will be handed to the adult who submitted the work to pass on to the winner. The award may be held for one year only. It will be the responsibility of the winner to return the award to the Guild in good time for the following year’s Conference. The membership officer will process their free membership for the following year. In the case of a school or corporate entry, the membership will be for the school, club or corporation not the individual.

Any young person who submits work for the award may attend the Awards presentation on the Sunday morning but  they must be accompanied by a responsible adult at all times.


Awards 2012


Maureen Carswell award (top mark for Craftsman) and

Peter Wolfe Cloisonné Cup: Melvyn Jennings













Hans Theilade (for new enamellers): Patricia Thatcher



Fred Barnes Memorial Trophy (Champleve or Basse Taille): Carmen Lombardi















Fred Barnes, Highly Commended and Themed Subject (Jungle): Alexandra Woolner




Kenneth Benton Award (for innovation & originality): Kate Hooker









Kenneth Benton, Highly Commended: Ruby Tomes




Peter Wolfe, Highly Commended: Caroline Tetley















The Painting Award (using vitreous onglaze pigments): Francis Clark






Painting Award, Highly Commended: Tilly Wilkinson











The Chairmans’ Rose Bowl: Marion Edwards






Enameller Elect (the May Yarker Award by Members’ vote): Gill Harkness


YEA Winners 2012

 Mila and Bianca Casaus


 Michael Cartwright


 Emily Williams


 Rosie Swales


 Joshua Linnett


 Xanthe Spence


Free listings for Guild Members. To advertise here please email your ad. to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Coming up soon!


Our next theme is"Continuity and Friendship"

Conference will be held 17th-19th April 2020 at Moulton College, Northants